Rice University logo
Top blue bar image Policy Studies

Areas of Study

The Policy Studies area curriculum provides relevant specialized training that builds on students' work in the basic curriculum. Students are required to take six courses from one area of specialization.

Courses for each area are listed separately, below. Given the nature of course offerings at Rice, this list is neither exhaustive nor complete.

In addition, specific courses may be more or less appropriate for a given student depending on their academic and career goals whether or not the courses are listed within an Area. Students can work with the  Policy Studies director  to create an Area of Study appropriate for them.

Students may receive credit toward their Area of Study for appropriate Study Abroad courses or for research experiences.

Areas of Study